Bureau of Parliament of Georgia Registers the Self-Government Code

13 Nov, 2013

The Bureau of Parliament of Georgia registered the draft Self-Government Code at a meeting on 12 November.  The Parliament committees will start considering the draft in a few days.

The new Self-Government Code calls for the replacement of the existing system by the European type of public-oriented self-government system.  According to the draft, the number of self-governing cities (there are five such cities in Georgia at the moment: Tbilisi, Rustavi, Kutaisi, Poti and Batumi) will increase.  The status will be given to all cities with the population exceeding 15 thousand people.

According to the code, along with the governor’s office a collective body will be set up, which will be staffed by members of Sakrebulo (the City Council). This body will be involved in a decision-making process.

Today the draft Self-Government Code was unveiled by the authors to the regional media and NGOs.

Davit Narmania, the Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure, his deputy Tengiz Shergelashvili, Irakli Melashvili, head of the Department for Relations with Regions and Local
Governments of the State Chancellery, around 50 representatives of NGOs and experts working on local government issues took part in the discussions.

The event has been supported by the Ministry of Regional Development and Infrastructure of Georgia, Regional Civil Society Network Facilitator – NGO CiDA   and the OSGF.

The Self-Government Code was developed by an OSGF-supported working group as part of a grant provided by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

The government of Georgia approved the Self-Government  Code by the end of December.  For more information about the self-government reform process, please visit the website www.tvitmartvelobisdroa.ge